If a diagram was to be opened, then the updated metamodel will prevent the relationships from being recognized; the symbols representing the relationships will be removed from the diagram. Should this happen, close the diagram without saving.
The relationships still exist, stored in properties no longer visible to the metamodel. These relationships need transferring to their new properties. To do so, access the ArchiMate menu and select the Transfer Relationships to v 4.0 metamodel option (this is to be completed per workspace).
The Relationship Transfer dialog should appear;
There are three options for processing the existing relationships;
The relationships can be processed, leaving the 'old' stored detail to be processed again if necessary. It is suggested that this option is used for the 'first pass' of the relationship transfer. Neither of the checkboxes should be enabled for the first pass.
A report should be generated, describing the progress of the transfer;
Each property updated will be listed, along with any updates that 'failed'.
In the example above, it can be seen that the Actor Document Processing SSCwas unable to be assigned to a Business Collaboration. It might be that a direct relationship used to exist in the 'old' metamodel, or that the direction of the relationship was incorrectly applied.
Re-run the Transfer Relationships again, but this time, if confident, choose to remove the stored relationship details as they are processed. This time the Attempt to process failed Direct Relationships as Indirect should be enabled.
Each processed definition will be listed, along with any updates, or failed updates.
In the example above, it can be seen that the Actor Document Processing SSCwas still unable to be indirectly assigned to a Business Collaboration, although the Data Object Customer Data File was successfully updated.
Two more passes could be attempted to get a complete transfer. Disable the first checkbox and enable the Attempt to process failed Relationships by reversing direction. During this pass, the Document Processing SSC will possibly accept the assignment in the other direction. Finally, try with both checkboxes enabled.
After a 'clean' report, where all relationships have been processed, it will not be necessary to use the last option; if the Remove processed relationships the only option was used. However, if after all four passes, there are still relationships that have not been updated, the final option can be used to remove the 'unwanted' detail from the model.
Note: It is always recommended that a backup of an encyclopedia is made before any upgrade.